Moussa Leads SBVC All-Conference Selections

Moussa Leads SBVC All-Conference Selections

Quarterback Jeremy Moussa was named co-Offensive Player of the Year and 16 other San Bernardino Valley College players were recognized by coaches on the 2019 All-American Mountain Conference team.

Moussa appeared in four conference games, amassing 1,177 yards passing and 14 touchdowns. Overall, the freshman finished the season with the second-best single campaign in school history. In nine games, he completed 199 passes for 3,179 yards and 37 touchdowns, leaving him only 89 yards behind the single-season total set in 2018 by Armando Herrera. His total also puts him fifth on the career passing yards list, and third in total touchdown passes.

Two Wolverines were honored twice by the all-conference selections. Sophomore Darrell Turner Jr. was an unanimous pick for first team honors at running back. He finished the season with 954 yards rushing and four rushing touchdowns. He was the second-team selection for all-purpose player, finishing the season with 1,299 total yards of offense - an average of 118.1 yards per game. Freshman Ben Falck, who has already received a scholarship offer from the University of Arkansas-Pine Bluff, was unanimously chosen as the first team kicker and punter by coaches. He finished the season with 70 points, on seven field goals and 49 extra points as a kicker, and when called upon to punt, he put 23 of his 58 punts inside the opponent's 20, averaging 36.2 yards per punt.

The Wolverines' defense was also well represented in the first-team selections. Defensive tackle Jess Ybarra led the team with nine sacks, while defensive end Damen Studsill was third on the team with 48 tackles. Outside linebacker Montre Moore led the team with 58 tackles on the season, including five sacks and 10.5 tackles for losses. Cornerback Claude Dent, who had four interceptions, closed out the first-team selections on the defensive side.

Joining Turner on the offensive first team was center Kory Butcher, offensive lineman Trey Edwards, tight end Kade Greeley, wide receiver Tate Pringle. Zeke Zaragoza was named the first-team utility player by conference coaches.

Jhalen Haynes - who tied a single-season school record with eight interceptions - was a second team selection at outside linebacker. Other second team selections were safeties Jaiden Roe and David Pollard, as well as tight end Alex Marshall.